Song IV from The Madness of Hora


Photo by Vera Bomstad

[29] There are no words
no words from no thoughts
a deep darkness within
in longing for him

[30] A steadfast friend
of the undying dead
ordered by me
how could that be?

[31] Behind the mirror
he waited forever
until my design came clear
only to lose one so dear

[32] My life protracted
in the mirror refracted
sat on my throne
longing to go home

[33] But they say my home is here
a dream did I endure
that place was but my fantasy
for here lies my history

[34] My horn was but a figment
could I imagine such an instrument?
from it I made my career
there’s nothing like it here

[35] My Priestesses I teach
the new laws I preach
to love all equally
to behave morally

[36] Centuries of dogma to unravel
the roads that I must travel
destroy Cyrus’ corrupted truth
words he put in Sammardine’s mouth

[37] for decades under minotaur’s mane
Sammardine was not to blame
his jealousy of Hahn blinded
the fences later mended

[38] The sibling feud that never was
my magic was the cause
no one could resist my word
not one order ever heard

[39] Throne deep in a darkened cave
keeps me from making man a slave
a moment’s peace I cannot see
Albion’s tyrant I mustn’t be

[40] In these words I fail
to sketch the thoughts of my trial
so deep is my desolation
there is no consolation

Leave a comment